Last edited one month ago
by Cal Friedman

Tricksters

Revision as of 18:38, 27 June 2025 by Cal Friedman (talk | contribs)
(diff) ← Older revision | Latest revision (diff) | Newer revision → (diff)
Illustrated by: REPLACE NAME
Purchase the Tricksters Faction on Forgefire! (link coming soon)

Stealing things, stopping things, starting things, hiding your keys in the morning, collecting underpants for profit… for years, you've thought of these little people as pests. Now they've turned up as pesticide.

Tricksters are from the Core (base game) set and have a Titan card - Big Funny Giant.

Complexity Level: Medium-High
Mechanics
  • Creating Hazards
  • Punishing Opponents

Hopefully you might have guessed that Tricksters are full of tricks. These include punishing opponents for affecting your minions, making bases difficult, deadly, or even impossible to play on, straight up disallowing a player from playing their cards, undoing an action attached to a minion or base, and forcing your opponents to discard cards. It is no mere exaggeration to call these guys full-scale full-time nuisances. Fortunately for their opponents, all the restrictions Tricksters place on them have some condition that makes them temporary or partially ineffective.

Strategy

Tormenting your friends might be fun and all for you, but does that win you the game? Frankly, there's no guarantee that it will. There's a coin here with two sides to it:

  •     What should you do if your opponents ignore you, deciding you aren't worth the effort to deal with?
  •     What should you do if you manage to piss off your opponents and they decide to attack your minions?

Turning the game in your favor requires smart navigation between these two states of affairs. You need to hobble your opponents enough so that you win and they don't.

Punishing Passivity

If your opponent won't or can't resist your incursions, then go on the offensive. Claim any particularly advantageous bases for yourself, then when it appears your opponent won't play there, follow where they went with your Gremlins, Brownies, and Leprechaun. You want to invade bases where your opponent is and try to stop them from playing any more power there than you, so you won't have to play as much there yourself to break the base and win it. Gnomes can be used here to keep the balance of power on the base under control. Once you've got Enshrouding Mist ready, drop two minions and win the base.

Sounds like walking a fine line, right? Well, we are talking about winning the game, after all. Tricksters have no power boosts and their minions average 3 power. Tricksters play dirty and you've got to use everything they've got. This is not a simple or easy faction to win with.

In special cases where you get rewarded for destroying your own minions, such as at Cave of Shinies, put your Gremlins on the chopping block, since your opponent isn't. You still draw a card and they discard one. If you have to play Gnome for this, you need one other minion on the base with the Gremlin to fulfill Gnome's requirement.

Punishing Aggression

First of all, when it's against your Gremlins and Brownies, you might try to act distraught, but of course you're laughing inside. You should put them in the most obnoxious and dangerous places, rather than your Gnomes and Leprechaun.

A much bigger problem for you is if your opponent can get rid of your minions by out-powering you and winning first place on bases. You always have to be on the lookout for this. Tricksters aren't good at destroying cards already in play. You have to anticipate your opponents and carefully control how many of their minions finally end up on the bases and where.

Synergy

Tricksters are good at stalling out games, so factions that benefit from that help. If your goal really is inflicting pain and suffering, there are some other factions good at that, too.

  • Elder Things - Pain, punishment, terror, and madness.
  • Vampires - These guys have an unfortunate habit of lunching on their allies. You might as well feed them your Gremlins. Vampires are good at pulling close leads from up behind their opponents. They have a few ways to add +1 power counters on your Leprechaun, making him much better at his job.
  • Aliens - Send your opponents' minions back to their hand, then block them. Also appreciates a good stall.

Cards - Minions

1x Leprechaun

Power 5 - Ongoing: After another player plays a minion here with less power than this minion's power, destroy it (resolve its ability first).

Errata? Yes/No

Clarifications:

Q: A low-power minion is moved to its base, does Leprechaun destroy it?

A: No. Leprechaun only destroys minions after they are played, not after they are moved.

Q: I play a Weed Eater on a base with an enemy Leprechaun. Weed Eater starts at power 5, so is it destroyed or not?

A: Yes. You resolve the minion's ability first, so its power drops to 3. And unless something can boost your Weed Eater's power or lower the Leprechaun's power, Weed Eater's (modified) power is less the Leprechaun's.

Q: I play a War Raptor on a base with two War Raptors and an enemy Leprechaun. Is it destroyed or not?

A: No. You resolve the minion's ability first, so its power is increased to 5.

Q: I play a power-5 minion on a base where another player has a power-5 Leprechaun and Sleep Spores. Is my minion destroyed?

A: Yes. Sleep Spores's ability applies immediately to your minion, so your minion has a power of 4 and is destroyed.

Q: I play a power-5 minion on a base where another player has a power-5 Leprechaun and Hatchling. Is my minion destroyed?

A: It depends. Unlike Sleep Spores, which is applied immediately, Hatchling's ability is a mandatory ability that's activated after you're done playing your minion and resolving its ability. But, Leprechaun's ability is also a mandatory ability that's activated after you're done playing your minion. According to the rules, it's the current player who decides the order in which these two mandatory abilities are activated. If Hatchling is activated before Leprechaun, your minion's power will be lowered to 4 and it becomes vulnerable to Leprechaun. However, if Leprechaun is activated before Hatchling, the minion survives Leprechaun's destruction and has its power lowered by 1.

Q: If a player plays a minion (such as a Microbot Guard) to destroy the Leprechaun minion, will the Microbot Guard be destroyed after it destroys the Leprechaun?

A: Based on the wording, yes, but it's actually no: The Bigger Geekier Box ruled that Leprechaun and the minion must be on the same base after resolving the played minion's ability for the played minion to be destroyed.

Q: If a player plays Dusty Henry to shuffle the Leprechaun minion into its owner's deck, will Dusty Henry be destroyed after Leprechaun leaves play?

A: No, the Leprechaun and the minion must be on the same base after resolving the played minion's ability for the played minion to be destroyed.

Q: If a player plays a minion on Leprechaun's base and moves Leprechaun (e.g. Bear Cavalry) to another base, will the minion be destroyed?

A: No, the Leprechaun and the minion must be on the same base after resolving the played minion's ability for the played minion to be destroyed.

Q: If a player plays a minion on Leprechaun's base and moves itself (e.g. Twister) to another base, will the minion be destroyed?

A: No, the Leprechaun and the minion must be on the same base after resolving the played minion's ability for the played minion to be destroyed.

Q: If a player plays Felicia Day on a different base than Leprechaun's base and therefore moves Leprechaun to its base, will Felicia Day be destroyed?

A: No. For Leprechaun's ability to activate (or any "After X, do Y" abilities for that matter), Leprechaun must "witness" the minion being played on its base when it is played even if the destruction would only happen way after that, so it must already be on Felicia Day's base right when it's played and before Felicia Day's ability is resolved. This is clearly not the case here.

Q: On my turn, a base with an enemy Leprechaun is 1 power away from breaking. I play a power-1 minion there. Does the base break before my minion is destroyed?

A: No. You only check if a base scores during phase 3 of a player's turn.

Q: I play a low-power minion with a talent on a base with an enemy Leprechaun. Can I use its talent before it's destroyed?

A: Sadly no. While you do have to resolve your minion's immediate abilities before it's destroyed, a talent is not among the things that are resolved when the minion enters play.

Q: Can it destroy monsters?

A: If the monster is played by another player's card, yes because it's a minion and it's played by a player. If the monster is played by The Gauntlet's ability, no because the rulebook says so.

Q: I play a Mimic on an enemy its base. Is my Mimic destroyed?

A: Supposing Leprechaun is still at power 5, then no. When you play Mimic, its ability is resolved before Leprechaun's ability, so Mimic becomes power 5 (or more, if there's a higher printed power in play!) and so the Leprechaun can't destroy it.

Q: If I play an Argonaut instead of an action on Leprechaun's base, is it still destroyed?

A: Yes. Playing an Argonaut, whether as a minion or instead of an action, still counts as playing a minion. It IS a minion after all.

2x Brownie

Power 4 - Ongoing: After another player plays a card that affects this minion, that player discards two random cards.

Errata? Yes/No

Clarifications:

Q: I play a card with a talent that can affect Brownie (e.g. Snow White, Monkey on Your Back). If I use the talent on Brownie, do I discard cards?

A: Since a Talent is not activated when you play a card and since Brownie only activates from the card being played, the answer is no, you don't discard any card.

Q: I play Assassination on a Brownie. Since Assassination only affects Brownie at the end of the turn and not after it is played, I don't have to discard any cards, right?

A: Wrong. Playing an action on a minion already counts as affecting it, so Assassination actually affects the Brownie when it is played.

Q: I play We are Family on a Brownie. So from now on, if any other player plays a standard action that directly affects another minion on its base, I can copy it onto Brownie and force that player to discard two random cards, right? Mwahahahahahaha!!!

A: Sorry no, despite its wording, the Brownie only triggers from being "directly" affected and We are Family copying an effect onto it only counts as "indirectly" affecting it.

Q: What if Brownie is affected by a base's ability that triggers when a player plays a card? (e.g. The Deep)

A: The card that affects Brownie is the base, not the card that was played by the player, so Brownie's ability doesn't trigger.

Q: I play a card that destroys or returns Brownie. Because Brownie is not in play anymore, I don't have to discard any cards, right?

A: Yes, you do. Brownie was triggered the moment you destroyed or returned it, and that same effect caused it to be removed from play, so its ability will be resolved even though it's no longer in play at that time.

Q: I play a card that takes control of Brownie. I'm no longer "another player to him", so I don't discard cards, right?

A: No, you do discard. Brownie was triggered the moment you took control of it (you were in fact another player playing a card to affect it), and that same effect is obviously what caused it to no longer be your minion, so its ability will be resolved.

Q: Player B plays a minion to break a base. It affects player A's card because the minion is destroyed (once the base is scored). So player B has to discard cards, right?

A: Not at all. You're confusing several things. First of all, if a player plays a minion, we don't check if the base scores until they are done playing their Play Cards phase (phase 2). Secondly, after a base scores, the minions on the base are not destroyed, they are discarded or it is also said that they "go to the discard pile", neither one is synonymous of being affected.

3x Gnome

Power 3 - You may destroy a minion on this base with power less than the number of minions you have here.

Errata? Yes/No

Clarifications:

Q: Can I destroy one of my own minions with a Gnome?

A: Absolutely!

Q: I have to count the number of minions "I have there". Do minions there that I own but don't control also count? I don't control them but I "own" them, so I "have" them, right?

A: No. "A minion you have" means "a minion you control (whether or not you own it)". Minions you just own but don't control don't count.

4x Gremlin

Power 2 - After this minion is destroyed, draw a card and each other player discards a random card

Errata? Yes/No

Clarifications:

Q: If I destroy my own Gremlin, do I draw a card and all the other players discards a card?

A: Yes. A Gremlin's ability is triggered after its destruction no matter who destroys it.

Q: Why is this an Ongoing ability if it only activates once?

A: If it wasn't, it would only be resolved once when it's played and that's it. After that, any player can destroy it without triggering its ability because it's no longer active. By giving it the Ongoing qualifier, it ensures that the ability continues being active for as long as the Gremlin is in play.

Q: I have a Gremlin on a base. After it scores, does it trigger its ability?

A: No. After a base scores, cards there are "discarded", not "destroyed", so it doesn't activate Gremlin's ability.

Q: I already have 10 cards in hand. If an opponent destroys my Gremlin, making me draw a card, is the drawn card immediately discarded instead? Do I draw it and immediately choose which card to discard? Do I keep it until the next Draw 2 Cards phase where I will need to discard down to 10?

A: You don't discard any card until your next Draw 2 Cards phase (so not any Draw 2 Cards phase!). At that point, you will indeed need to draw two cards and discard down to 10 if you have more than 10. That's the only moment where you must discard down to 10. At any other time, you keep your hand of cards.

Q: An opponent takes control of my Gremlin (Flower Child, Make Contact). If it is destroyed while they still have control of it, do I draw a card?

A: No. Under the control of another player, the card treats its new controller as if they had played it. So "you" on the minion would designate its current controller, and another player would be any player that is not the controller. So, if Gremlin is destroyed, its new controller draws a card and all other players (you included) discard a random card.

Q: I have a Gremlin and Escape Hatch on the same base. If the Gremlin is destroyed, what happens?

A: Minions retrieved with Escape Hatch aren't actually destroyed, despite the action's wording. So nothing happens because the Gremlin wasn't triggered.

Q: I have a Gremlin and Medical Officer in play. If my Gremlin is destroyed and I choose to return it to my hand with Medical Officer, what happens.

A: Medical Officer prevents the Gremlin's destruction by replacing it with a "return" effect, so the Gremlin is not considered as having been destroyed and doesn't trigger.

Cards - Actions

1x Block the Path

Play on a base and name a faction. Ongoing: Minions of that faction cannot be played here.

Errata? Yes/No

Clarifications:

Q: I have minions of the same faction on a base. My opponent plays Block the Path there and names that faction. Do I have to remove the minions that are already there?

A: No, Block the Path doesn't work retroactively. It only prevents you from playing minions of that faction from the moment it is in play, so it will only concern the future minions that you will play.

Q: Can I name one of my factions?

A: Yes, but keep in mind that you will also be forbidden from playing minions of that faction there.

Q: I named an opponent's faction and later somehow ended up with a minion of that faction in my hand. (e.g. Trade) Can I play that minion on the base with Block the Path?

A: No. The card doesn't forbid a specific player from playing minions of that faction. It just states no minions of that faction can be played there, no matter who plays them (even you). So you are not immune to Block the Path.

Q: I'm prevented from playing Dinosaur minions because of Block the Path. I play Wildlife Preserve there. Can I now play a Dinosaur minion there?

A: No, well actually, you can try to, but your minion will be discarded without effect. Also, Wildlife Preserve only protects minions that are already in play, not in hand. Besides, Block the Path does something that's not listed in the definition of "affect" anyway.

Q: Can I move minions of the named faction to the base with Block the Path?

A: Yes. Block the Path only prevents minions from being played there, not moved there.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because it says "Play on a base", which means that it is not a standard action.

2x Disenchant

Destroy an action that has been played on a minion or base

Errata? Yes/No

Clarifications:

Q: Can Disenchant be used to destroy Ornate Dome or Magic Ward?

A: Yes. Ornate Dome and Magic Ward only prevents "Play on base" actions from being played on their base. Disenchant isn't such an action.

Q: Can I use Disenchant on Shielding?

A: Yes. Shielding doesn't protect itself. Also, removing action from a minion doesn't count as affecting the minion.

Q: A player plays Mass Enchantment and plays one of my actions to do some stuff, can I play Disenchant to cancel whatever they did?

A: No, Mass Enchantment is discarded after play since it's a standard action (i.e. an action doesn't get attached to a minion or a base). Disenchant on the other hand can only be used to destroy an action that's currently attached to a minion or a base, which excludes Mass Enchantment. Also note that destroying a card doesn't necessarily undo whatever the card did, it's just no longer there. And if you're referring to how the card is named "Disenchant" and should therefore work on cards with the word "Enchantment" in their names, those are just the name of the cards and what the cards can actually do is described in their abilities--don't assume anything from the card names alone or how you think cards should work.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because it doesn't affect any minions in play and so its effect can't be copied. Yes, destroying an action affects that action, but not the card (minion or base) it is on.

2x Enshrouding Mist

Play on a base. Ongoing: On your turn, you may play an extra minion here

Errata? Yes/No

Clarifications:

Q: When using the ability of Enshrouding Mist, do I have to play a minion on the same base with the regular minion play?

A: No. You can play your free minion on any base. The extra minion gained from Enshrouding Mist must be played on the base with Enshrouding Mist though. Also, remember that you can play your extra and free minions in any order.

Q: Do I have to have a minion already on the base to use Enshrouding Mist's ability?

A: No. The card doesn't state that you need to have a minion there to use its ability, so you can play the extra minion even if you don't already have a minion there.

Q: An opponent plays this card on a base, so now I can play an extra minion there on my turn, right?

A: No. Your opponent played the action, so they control it, and therefore the action only addresses them and the ability must be interpreted from their point of view. So "you" means "they" (i.e. your opponent) and "on your turn" means "on their turn".

Q: Can I use this card's ability to play an extra minion multiple times in one turn?

A: No. The Bigger Geekier Box rulebook now restricts all "on your turn" abilities to a single use on each of your turns.

Q: Before the base scores, I play Enshrouding Mist with a Mole. Can I play an extra minion?

A: No. Enshrouding Mist only gives you an extra minion "on your turn", i.e. during the Play Cards phase (phase 2) of your turn.

Q: I play Enshrouding Mist on Ice Castle, can I now play a minion there?

A: No, well you can try, but even though Enshrouding Mist allows you to play a minion there, Ice Castle prevents it, and when cards conflict, "can't" always trumps "can". So if you do try to play it anyway, it will be discarded without effect.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because it says "Play on a base", which means that it is not a standard action.

1x Flame Trap

Play on a base. Ongoing: After another player plays a minion here, destroy it (resolve its ability first) and this card.

Errata? Yes/No

Clarifications:

Q: An opponent plays this card on a base and then plays a minion there, since they're another player to me, Flame Trap should trigger and destroy their minion, right?

A: No. Your opponent played the action, so they control it, and therefore the action only addresses them and the ability must be interpreted from their point of view. So "another player" means "one of their opponents".

Q: I play a Zapbot on a base with Flame Trap. I resolve its ability first, so I play another Zapbot as an extra minion, and another one, and another minion of power 2 or less. After I'm done, does Flame Trap destroy all of them?

A: Extra cards can always be played immediately when you get them, so you can indeed chain minions before resolving Flame Trap. So Flame Trap triggers for each of the played minions. Then when it's finally time to resolve Flame Trap, you resolve it in the reverse order of the played minions, so from the most recently-played minion to the first one (the very first Zapbot here), see Shogun’s Palace's and So-So Corral's clarification. So the most-recently played minion is destroyed first as well as Flame Trap, but when you move on to the next minion, Flame Trap isn't in play anymore and its clarification states that the minion and Flame Trap must be on the same base for the minion to be destroyed. In summary, you only destroy the last-played minion along with Flame Trap, but the others remain in play.

Q: What happens if an indestructible minion is played on a base with Flame Trap? Does Flame Trap remain in play?

A: When a minion, indestructible or not, is played on that base, it triggers Flame Trap. So, after resolving the minion's ability, you must resolve Flame Trap's ability. First, you destroy the played minion. If it's indestructible, then its destruction fails. Then, regardless of whether the minion was destroyed or not, you must destroy Flame Trap.

Q: If I play Mechanic on Flame Trap's base, then use Mechanic's ability to play Ornate Dome from the discard pile onto Flame Trap's base, Flame Trap is now destroyed, but does it also destroy my Mechanic?

A: No. Ornate Dome destroys Flame Trap when it's played and in order for Flame Trap to destroy Mechanic, both Mechanic and Flame Trap must be on the same base, according to Flame Trap's clarification.

Q: Flame Trap is played on Pony Land and I already have a minion there. If I play another minion on Pony Land, does Pony Land protect my minions?

A: Yes. Pony Land is applicable as soon as you have two minions or more there. Flame Trap only triggers after you have finished resolving the new minion's ability, so it's already indestructible.

Q: If I play an Argonaut instead of an action on Flame Trap's base, is it still destroyed?

A: Yes. Playing an Argonaut, whether as a minion or instead of an action, still counts as playing a minion. It IS a minion after all.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because it says "Play on a base", which means that it is not a standard action.

1x Hideout

Play on a base. Ongoing: If another player's action would affect your minions here, destroy this card and the action does not affect your minions.

Errata? Yes/No

Clarifications:

Q: An opponent plays this card on a base, so if I have a minion there, it's no longer affected by my opponents' actions, right?

A: No. Your opponent played the action, so they control it, and therefore the action only addresses them and the ability must be interpreted from their point of view. So "your minions" means "their minions" and "another player" means "one of their opponents".

Q: Does it also protect minions there that I own but don't control? I don't control them but I "own" them, so they are "my" minions, right?

A: No. "Your minions" are minions you control, whether or not you own them. A minion you own but don't control isn't yours.

Q: If I play an action that would attach itself to an enemy minion protected by Hideout, what happens?

A: Hideout will prevent the action from being attached to that minion, so Hideout is destroyed and the action in question would go to its owner's discard pile.

Q: Sleep Spores is currently affecting my minions. I play Hideout there. What happens? Are Hideout and Sleep Spores both destroyed?

A: Hideout is immediately destroyed and Sleep Spores stops affecting your minions for the rest of the turn.

Q: I play a Cut Lass on a base with Hideout and destroy a minion there. Does Hideout protect against it?

A: No. Cut Lass is a minion and Hideout only protects against opponents' actions.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: - If you're asking about when Hideout is played, it doesn't interact with them at all, because it says "Play on a base", which means that it is not a standard action.

- If you're asking about when you copy an effect onto a minion with Hideout protecting it, then Hideout is destroyed and the minion isn't affected. Note that Hideout only protects against other player's actions, so if Hideout's controller plays a standard action, you can copy it with Dancing King and have it affect one of that player's minion, bypassing Hideout's protection because the minion is considered as being affected by its own controller's action.

- If you're asking about when a minion with Hideout protecting it is directly affected by a standard action and you want to copy that, then Hideout is destroyed, the minion isn't affected and because no minion was affected, you can't copy the effect.

- If you're asking about when an opponent's minion with Hideout protecting it is directly affected by that player's standard action and you want to copy that, then you can indeed copy it the same way.

1x Mark of Sleep

Action card text in a sentence.

Errata? Yes/No

Clarifications:

Q: Does Mark of Sleep stop the player from using the talents or ongoing abilities of actions they already have in play?

A: No. Mark of Sleep only prevents them from playing actions. Actions already in play are not affected in any way.

Q: On my turn, I play Mark of Sleep against a player and then score a base. Can that player play a "before a base scores" or "after a base scores" action?

A: Yes. You only prevent them from playing actions on their next turn.

Q: I play Mark of Sleep against a player. When it's their turn to play, they manage to score a base. Can they play any Special actions?

A: Yes, they can. Mark of Sleep only prevents them from playing actions "on their turn", that is during the Play Cards phase (phase 2) of their turn.

Q: Does Mark of Sleep prevent Argonaut from being played?

A: It depends. If it's played using a minion play, no. If it's played using an action play, yes because an Argonaut can only be played using its Special "any time you can play an action", which cannot be done because of Mark of Sleep.

Q: I play Mark of Sleep on a player. Later, they play Force of Wil on someone. Could they do that?

A: It depends on when Force of Wil is played. If it's currently the Play Cards phase of the player who is playing Force of Wil, then no, because Mark of Sleep prohibits them from playing any action during that specific phase. At any other time, then it's perfectly legal. For example, if you play a second action after you play Mark of Sleep, then the player you targeted can indeed block you with Force of Wil. As long as it's not their next Play Cards phase, they are free to play Force of Wil on anyone.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because it doesn't affect any minions in play and so its effect can't be copied.

1x Pay the Piper

Play on a base. Ongoing: After another player plays a minion here, that player discards a card.

Errata? Yes/No

Clarifications:

Q: An opponent plays this card on a base and then plays a minion there. Since they're "another player" from my point of view, they must discard a card because of Pay the Piper, right?

A: No. Your opponent played the action, so they control it, and therefore the action only addresses them and the ability must be interpreted from their point of view. So "another player" means "one of their opponents".

Q: Does the player choose which card they discard or does the Trickster player decide?

A: The one who played the minion and triggered the action's ability decides which card they have to discard.

Q: If I play an Enchantress on Pay the Piper's base, do I draw then discard a card ? Or do I discard then draw a card?

A: You first completely resolve the Enchantress's ability, then resolve Pay the Piper's ability. So, you draw then discard a card.

Q: If I play Zombie Lord on Pay the Piper's base and discard a power-2 minion, can I play that minion as one of the extra minions?

A: No. Zombie Lord's extra minions must be played immediately and so can't be saved (or "banked") for later. Pay the Piper will force you to discard a card AFTER Zombie Lord's ability is resolved and so you don't have any more extra minion plays from it (all unspent extra minion plays gained from Zombie Lord are lost if they aren't used immediately).

Q: All I have in my hand is a bunch of Zapbots. Can I chain-play all of them on Pay the Piper's base, then discard zero cards (because I have none left)?

A: Yes. Extra card plays can always be played immediately when they are gained, even during phase 2. As such, you can indeed play all your Zapbots at once and then resolve Pay the Piper, which you can't pay because you won't have any cards to discard.

Q: If I play Mechanic on Pay the Piper's base, then use Mechanic's ability to play Ornate Dome from the discard pile onto Pay the Piper's base, Pay the Piper is now destroyed, but do I have to discard a card?

A: An ability that was triggered can only be resolved if it's still in play or if it was removed from play by the triggering event itself. Here, Pay the Piper was triggered by the Mechanic, but what removed it was Ornate Dome, so you don't discard a card.

Q: If I play an Argonaut instead of an action on Pay the Piper's base, do I still have to discard a card?

A: Yes. Playing an Argonaut, whether as a minion or instead of an action, still counts as playing a minion. It IS a minion after all.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because it says "Play on a base", which means that it is not a standard action.

1x Pay the Piper

Each other player discards two random cards.

Errata? Yes/No

Clarifications:

Q: How do you randomly decide which cards to discard?

A: Choose your preferred method. The player could shuffle their hand face-down and discard the two top cards. The player could fan out their hand and have another player randomly choose two cards. Any random method will do.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because it doesn't affect any minions in play and so its effect can't be copied.

Cards - Bases

1x Cave of Shinies


Breakpoint 23 - VPs: 4 2 1 - After each time a minion is destroyed here, its owner gains 1 VP.

Errata? Yes/No

Clarifications:

Q: If a minion is not actually destroyed, does it count for the 1 VP bonus of Cave of Shinies (or Field of Honor)?

A: No. If the minion in question is not destroyed, the base ability doesn't even trigger for said minion in the first place.

Q: If several of my minions are destroyed on Cave of Shinies because of one or more abilities, how many VPs do I gain?

A: You gain 1 VP per destroyed minion.

Q: I play a Sprout on Cave of Shinies. When it destroys itself at the start of my next turn, do I gain 1 VP?

A: Yes.

Q: I took control of another player's minion on Cave of Shinies. When that minion is destroyed, who gets the VP? me or the player I took it from?

A: The minion's owner gets the VP. If the minion is a monster or a treasure minion, no one gets any VP because monsters and treasures don't have owners.

Q: Do players get VPs for minions that get destroyed when they score the Cave of Shinies?

A: No. After a base scores, the minions there are discarded, not destroyed.

Q: If the base gets destroyed (No-Moon™, Burn it Down, There Goes Tokyo), do all minions around it still give VPs?

A: It depends. If the base alone gets destroyed (e.g. with Burn it Down), no minion is destroyed, so no VPs are granted. If the base and the minions are destroyed (e.g. There Goes Tokyo), each minion does give 1 VP to its owner. If the base and the minions are simply discarded (e.g. No-Moon™), that's not a destruction, so no VPs are granted.

Q: I have Infiltrate on this base. If I destroy another player's minion there, can I deny them the VP because of Infiltrate?

A: No. Infiltrate allows you to avoid following the Cave of Shinies's instructions, but it doesn't prevent the other player from following it. You also cannot ignore triggering the base's ability because that's not what Infiltrate allows you to do.

1x Mushroom Kingdom


​​Breakpoint 20 - VPs: 5 3 2 - At the start of each player’s turn, that player may move one other player’s minion from any base to here.

Errata? Yes/No

Clarifications:

Q: Do you need to have a minion there to use this base's ability?

A: There's no such restriction, so no.

Q: Can Deep Roots be used to counter Mushroom Kingdom's ability?

A: No. Deep Roots counters other players' abilities, i.e. abilities coming from the other players' cards. A base's ability belongs to no player, so Deep Roots doesn't counter it.

Q: I have Infiltrate on this base. Can I prevent other players from moving my minions?

A: Yes. Infiltrate allows you to protect your minion from being affected by Mushroom Kingdom's ability.

Card - Titan

1x Big Funny Giant

Special: Instead of your regular minion play, you may play this titan on a base that has no player’s minions. Ongoing: Other players must discard a card to play a minion here. At the end of your turn, if there are no other players’ minions here, place a +1 power counter on this titan. Talent: Destroy a minion of power 2 or less here to move this titan to another base.

Errata? Yes/No

Clarifications:

Q: The card says "Special" so I can use it outside of my turn, but why does the card also say "instead of your regular minion play"?

A: "Special" does not mean the card can be played out of turn. "Special" simply means that it's an ability that can be used when its condition is met. Whether it can be used out of turn, activated straight from your hand/discard pile, or if it can only be used when it's already in play (essentially being a synonym of Ongoing), it entirely depends on the wording. In the case of Big Funny Giant, the condition is "instead of your regular minion play", this means that you can only activate it when you have a regular minion play available, which is only on your turn and more specifically on your Play Cards phase. It cannot be played out of turn, because, outside of your own Play Cards phase, you don't have any regular minion plays to give up.

Q: If there's a restriction on where I can play a minion (e.g. Ice Castle, Overrun), does it also apply to Big Funny Giant if I play it instead of my regular minion play?

A: No, such a restriction only applies when you play a minion. If you convert your regular minion play into a titan play, you're playing a titan, not a minion, so the restriction doesn't apply.

Q: What happens to Big Funny Giant when the base that it's on scores?

A: It remains on that base until the step where you discard all the cards on the base. At which point it leaves play and is set aside. Any +1 power counter on it is removed.

Q: A base is chosen to score. I have no minions there, but I have Big Funny Giant there. It is similar to a minion, right? So I can still get VPs from the base if 0 is among the top three total power, right?

A: No and no. Big Funny Giant is a titan, not a minion. To be eligible to receive VPs, you must have at least one minion or at least 1 total power on the base. If you have no minions and your total power there is 0, then you can't receive any VPs from the base. Now, if Big Funny Giant had any +1 power counters on it or gave you any total power (e.g. on Kaiju Island), then you would have at least 1 total power and be eligible. Otherwise, no.

Q: An opponent is playing the Tricksters with their titan. Their Big Funny Giant isn't in play. There is a base where no one has a minion and I haven't played my regular minion yet, I can then invoke Big Funny Giant through its Special ability and play it there, right?

A: No, only the player who has it next to their deck can play it.

Q: If Big Funny Giant's ability is cancelled, are the +1 power counters placed on it by its own ability removed?

A: No. When you place a +1 power counter, it's a definitive effect, so the +1 power counters remain even if the card that placed them has its ability cancelled (like drawing cards, if you play Enchantress, you're not going to discard the card you drew if Enchantress's ability is cancelled).

Q: Can Big Funny Giant be played on a base with only monsters?

A: It depends. If all the monsters there are uncontrolled, then yes, there are no players' minions there, i.e. no minions there controlled by any player. If at least one monster is controlled there, then no.

Q: At the end of my turn, Big Funny Giant is on a base with only monsters. Can it still get a +1 power counter?

A: It depends. If all the monsters there are uncontrolled, then yes, there are no other players' minions there, i.e. no minions there controlled by any other player. If at least one monster is controlled there by another player, then no.

Q: Another player has Big Funny Giant in play. If I play an Argonaut instead of an action on its base, do I still have to discard a card?

A: Yes. Playing an Argonaut, whether as a minion or instead of an action, still counts as playing a minion. It IS a minion after all.